University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Potential Supervisors

Department of Psychology Honours Program 2017/2018 Potential Supervisors 

The following professors have indicated they are prepared to supervise honours students during 2017/2018.

PROFESSORS

CONTENT AREAS

CONTACT INFORMATION

Dr. Kevin Alderson
(Adjunct)

Human sexuality, especially with regard to sexual & gender diversity.

alderson@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Mike Antle

Neural mechanisms of circadian rhythms using animal models.

 

Dr. Glen Bodner

Our lab studies how factors such as task & context influence people's memory & aesthetic judgment. http://psyc.ucalgary.ca/mclab/

bodner@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Susan Boon

My research explores personal relationships, with a particular focus on romantic relationships and often, though not exclusively, their "dark side." See www.personalrelationships.ca for more information.

sdboon@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Joshua Bourdage

Interpersonal influence in the organizations, including impression management & influence tactics in the job interview, workplace & team contexts.

jbordage@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Celestina Martopullo

 

Celestina.Martopullo@albertahealthservices.ca

 

Dr. Tavis Campbell

Health Psychology, Clinical Psychology, Behavioural Medicine

t.s.campbell@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Linda Carlson
(Adjunct)

Psychosocial Onocology

lcarlso@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Derek Chapman

Industrial/Organizational Psychology, Recruiting & Selection

dchapman@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Emma Climie
(Adjunct)

Research focus on understanding the abilities of children, particularly those with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder www.ucalgary.ca/adhdkids

eaclimie@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Suzanne Curtin

Child Psychology, Cognitive Development, Psycholinguistics, speech.

scurtin@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Keith Dobson

Cognitive risk factors for depression, cross-cultural research in depression, and stigma in mental health.

ksdobson@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Richard Dyck

Research in the Dyck laboratory is directed to understanding the mechanisms involved in mediating cerebral cortical plasticity. Using animal models we study how day-to-day experiences modify neural communication and connectivity, and influence brain function and behaviour.

 

rdyck@ucalgary.ca

 

Dr. John Ellard

Justice Motivation, reactions to victimization, social psychology.

ellard@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Gerald Giesbrecht
(Adjunct)

The research is in the area of the effects of psychological stress during pregnancy on child development outcomes.

ggiesbre@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Janine Giese-Davis
(Adjunct)

Tom Baker Cancer Centre

jgieseda@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Nick Turner
(Adjunct)

Industrial/organizational psychology, specifically leadership, work design, and occupational health & safety.
http://haskayne.ucalgary.ca/haskayne_info/profiles/nick-turner

nicholas.turner@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Susan Graham

Child Psychology, Cognitive Development, Language Processing

grahams@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Laura Hambley
(Adjunct)

Organizational Psychology

hambley@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Leah Hamilton
(Adjunct)

Industrial Organization

lhamilton@mtroyal.ca

Dr. Giuseppe Iaria

At NeuroLab (www.neurolab.ca) we use neuroimaging and behavioural approaches to investigate a variety of cognitive processes in humans. We test children, adults, clinical populations, and also Astronauts. Email the Director of NeuroLab (Giuseppe Iaria) for booking a meeting if you would like to learn more about potential projects, and for visiting the lab.

giaria@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Candace Konnert

Research in social gerontology & mental health & aging.

konnert@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Kibeom Lee

Industrial/Organizational Psychology & Personality Psychology

kibeom@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Vedran Lovic

Behavioural Neuroscience, addictive behaviours, motivation, learning

vedran.lovic@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Cara MacInnis

Social Psychology, Attitudes

cara.macinnis@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Adam McCrimmon
(Adjunct) 

Autism Spectrum Disorder, with specific interests in resilience, mental health, vocational skills, diagnostic assessment, cognition & cognitive development, neuropsychological functioning.

awmccrim@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Daniel McGrath

My research interests focus primarily on disordered gambling. I am particularly interested in how co-morbid substance use (e.g., alcohol, tobacco) affects gambling-related behaviour as well as craving and cognitive process related to disordered gambling.

dmcgrathphd@gmail.com

Dr. Richelle Mychasiuk

My primary research interests are in the area of developmental origins of neuroplasticity. The laboratory uses extensive behavioural and epigenetic techniques to examine the pathophysiological association between early developmental programming events and susceptibility to neurodevelopmental disorders and brain injury. 

rmmychas@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Melanie Noel

Children's anxiety/fear and pain memories as cognitive-affective mechanisms underlying trajectories of pediatric pain. The overarching aim of her research is to understand and harness the influence of cognitive-behavioral factors on children’s pain trajectories using developmental frameworks.

melanie.noel@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Guy Pelletier
(Adjunct)

Health Psychology


gpelleti@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Penny Pexman

Research interests: Cognitive development, language processing, psycholinguistics.

pexman@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Andrea Protzner

My research uses electroencephalography and functional magnetic resonance imaging to study how brain dynamics are linked to variations in cognitive capacity.  Specifically, we examine how neural networks change when people learn something new, or when people experience focal or diffuse brain damage

protzner@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Lorraine Radtke

Discourse Analysis, Psychology of Gender, Social Psychology.

radtke@ucalgary.ca

Dr. John Robinson
(Adjunct)

Health Psychology - especially the effects of cancer on intimate relationships.

John.Robinson@albertahealthservices.ca

Dr. Christopher Sears

cognition, attention, and memory in depressed and depression-vulnerable individuals

sears@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Eddie Sheppard
(Adjunct)

My research focuses on the dissolution of non-marital romantic relationships and the specific coping methods that people employ to adjust to the loss of their relationship.

kesheppa@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Henderikus Stam

Qualitative studies on various topics; history of psychology studies.

stam@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Sheri Madigan

 My research focuses on determinants of children's early social, emotional, and cognitive development. 

sheri.madigan@ucalgary.ca

Dr.Andrew Szeto

My area of interest is the stigma of mental illness

aszeto@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Lianne Tomfohr

Research in the lab explores relationships between psychology and health http://psyc.ucalgary.ca/healthyhearts/

ltomfohr@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Kim Vaughan
(Adjunct)

Body Image, psychology & music

kimberleykayvaughan@gmail.com

Dr. Simon Spanswick

 


scspansw@ucalgary.ca
 

Dr. Yannick Griep

Broadly, my research in the field of psychological contracts focuses on how employers can establish and maintain positive relationships with their employees. At its most basic level, I examine the employee-employer exchange relationship and the factors that have a positive (e.g., trust) and negative (e.g., breach of promises) influence on this relationship.


yannick.griep@ucalgary.ca

 

 

Dr. Stephanie Hastings
(Adjunct)

 

Stephanie.Hastings@albertahealthservices.ca

 

Dr. David Hodgins

My research interests lie in the area of addictive behaviours, including alcohol and gambling addictions, and comorbid psychiatric disorders.


dhodgins@ucalgary.ca